Friendship. Happiness

So I came across this gem on the internet today. blogglovin

It just reminds me of…Well Me!  You can ask anyone of my four friends and they will all tell you that nothing can get me down. EVER.  I’m just an optimistic person.

“People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway. If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway. If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway. If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway. The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway. Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway. For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.” -Mother Teresa

This breathtaking quote is my mantra.  It is what I live my life by everyday.  I meet new people all the time and usually the first thing they notice about me is that I’m always smiling.   And I hate the fact that I’m always smiling but it is how people know me.  So regardless of my mood I have a stupid grin slapped across my face.  Now the people who know me the best know how to tell if I am actually happy or if I’m about to cry with a smile on my face.  They learn to read my moods and other actions I do so I can absolutely hide nothing from them.  This is one of the reasons I only have a few friends. (close friends that is) On that note my few friends that I do let in and actually trust consist of two girls, and only two girls, and two guys.  How funny is that?!  I just realized I have exactly four friends and they are split equally down the middle.  Now these friends of mine are no normal friends.  They are the die-hard call you out on your shit kinda friends.  They will get drunk with you one night and tell you to get your shit together the next.  I can invite them over and they can walk in look at the smile on my face and instantly say what is wrong?  Sometimes it is impressive how smart they can be,  I think that I can fool them considerably and they just see straight through the shit and cut right to the heart of the matter.  One time I was on the phone with one of my guy friends and I was upset, but you know, I’m on the phone so I thought I had it under control.  In my mind I was all like I got this he will never know.

blog now chanlleng3

Within the first five minutes of the conversation he goes, what’s wrong?  Why are you upset?  What happened?  I am always taken aback when they figure it out.

Another great friend of mine which I recently just got home from hanging with are the horses.  I ride.  Maybe not right at this moment in my life but I have been riding since I was old enough to speak the word horse.  I have worked with every type of crazy four-legged friend you can imagine.  I just have a way with horses.  Don’t ask me to explain it, I can’t, but I just know what they are thinking.

Sally blog

My two best friends in the whole wide world my sister and my horse.

Perfect example happened in class today.  For our lab we had to bundle up and venture out into this 35 degree weather for two hours and work directly with the horses.  As a leader in lab, basically meaning I have the most experience and the teacher can trust me to know what to do all the time,  I had to pleasure of working with a freshman who had no horse experience in her life.  Now normally if I was working a job, I would be quite P. O’ed about the whole thing (I have little patience with people) but since I was in a classroom setting I took to her like a mother hen.  One of the hardest things we had to do today (not for me but for anyone without horse experience) was to complete an obstacle course with the horses.  First you had to open and close the gate with the horse in your hands, next a 180 degree turn on the forehand, than back the horse through two poles laid out on the ground, than trot from one cone to the other with the horse in hand, and lastly halt the horse with a pole between his front legs and back legs.  For someone like myself this is child’s play, but for an inexperienced new horseman it is quite daunting.  I was the first to go (practice) and I whipped through it with of course no problems.  Next was the poor horseless soul.  She tried and tried but could not get the horse to move backwards straight and the horses hindquarters were swaying from side to side, they would swing out to the left then right then way left…you get the idea.  After getting frustrated she finally finishes and comes back to me.

Her first remark to me is “How the fuck did you make that look so easy!”  I started cracking up, really I just couldn’t not laugh, and she says again, “I mean really! I couldn’t even see you tell the horse to do anything you just swept through the whole course and it was like the horse could read your mind!” (I’m doubled over laughing at this point)  So I first told her I have horse sense.  I can move and positions a horses body as if it were my own without even thinking.  The second thing I told her was to slow down.  Every time you mess it up or he swings his butt right or left stop everything and think! What am I doing wrong? Because trust me it is definitely you never the horse.  If he swings to the left point the lead rope towards that side and ask him to back up.  I was like, here think of it this way… If you lie on your back on the ground body straight and rigid  and I push your head and arms to the left which way are your feet going to go?  She goes right?  Exactly!! And with that last word of advice she redid the obstacle course and nailed it.  It was the cutest thing ever!  She literally was jumping for joy because she was so proud of herself.  This is how I stay happy.  It’s the little things that I love that get me through the tough times.  It is always at the end of the day that moment when you see a little bit of yourself in someone else and remembering the struggles you overcame.  Despite it being 35 degree’s outside and freezing your butt off you forget about it because you just got a 1500 pound animal to back up through two stupid poles!  If you can do that what can’t you do I mean really?  There are many things riding teaches you throughout life and one of the most important lessons I’ve ever learned is to take joy in the small things, because you never know when it will end.  Horses are so fragile yet so big, they can jump around a course of five foot fences and be playing in the pasture with a buddy and slip and shatter a bone and that is the end.  Life for a rider is in the moment,  we’ll take a small insignificant victory every chance we get because a day, month, or year from now it could be the last one.

blog end picture

Leave a Reply

