Trail Running

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”

-Robert Frost

Okay so if you read my last post, I was supposed to go to our schools gym and do some HIITS while reading math…

Well It slipped my mind that we are having a basketball game against duke today therefore NO PARKING. ANYWHERE!! I couldn’t even find parking in my super secret parking lots!  So as I drove around the Entire freaking school I could feel the tension start to rise in my body and I was thinking FUCK THIS SHIT!  Like seriously.

That was the moment I decided that it was warm enough out to go for a run. Outside. Away from people, and traffic, and irritation.  I needed rocks to climb, tree’s to jump over, and wind to race. So as I started out on the two-mile loop I found right off of the actual paved trail I decided I would chronicle all the great perks and not so great perks of trail running.  Enjoy the pictures!

Pro’s of trail running:

You find cool things in the woods.

Check out this random fort someone built on the river bed.

Image

Complete with a fireplace!

Image

As well as this random rock with a stick perfectly stuck through it? Talk about having the perfect flag pole! 

Image

Beautiful scenery.

Image

Obstacles!  Test your balance out on a tree suspended over the water…No I didn’t fall in (gymnast duhhh)

Image

Agility training!  I call this the “ankle training” part of the course because, if you have weak ankles, your fucked.

Beginner:

Image

Intermediate:

Image

Advanced:

Image

Sand is a lot better on your joints than pavement.

soft sand

So is Moss.

soft moss

You have to climb mini-mountains!

mini mountain dirty

And use critical thinking skills about how to not fall into the water or slip on mud. Because the trail may look like this now…

be careful

But after then it turns into this…

be carefuller

More agility training!  This is called high root knees… (or face plant it’s up to you)

agility roots

Now time for some con’s of trail running:

Sticker’s randomly wanting to tag along (if your fast enough they just rip your clothes not your skin)

stickers

That is about it for con’s!

So go out and get those shoes dirty!!

dirty shoes

Because I mean really would you rather run on the top or the bottom…

forestry pavement boo

Happy Trails!

Leave a Reply

