What friends are for…

MjAxMy1iZTU3YjhhZTExNzAyYmRi

Life has a way of slapping you in the face when you start to fall asleep.  Not just when you fall asleep  but when you start to think oh wow my life is so easy and fun.  All of a sudden life drops into your lap and is like “Oh Hi! Remember me? Get to work!!”

Which is exactly what happen to me on Monday night.  After a entirely to full of a day being at school, attending class, meetings, and of course the gym, I was out for the count.  It literally sucked the life out of me.  Tuesday I woke up thinking…OMG it feels like Monday plus a freight train of paper’s to write.  I had fun this weekend going out and taking advantage of my free time but boy did it catch up with me fast.  Next thing I knew I was stuck with two papers to write and a really important test to study for which consumed all of my free time Tuesday.  Which is a lot because I get out of class around 12 on Tuesdays and I always have time to relax but not this week.

Let me explain to you exactly how Doomsday, oh I mean Tuesday, ended up.  I got out of class and went straight home where I literally sat at my desk typing from 12:30 pm to right around 5:30 pm.  About that time I had finished the majority of my papers and only had studying left to do.  So I decided what better time to take a dinner break.  Which turned out spectacularly  I made shake and bake chicken because it was quick and easy.  Of course if you don’t know this about me, I completely lose my appetite when I am stressed out.  Like seriously food makes me nausea just thinking about it or smelling it.  So I had an appetite going into studying for my math test.  By 8 pm my chicken was done sitting at the stove just staring at me, because let’s face it I was way to stressed to eat.  But hey, at least I had it there if I did get hungry.  So my roommates gathered around the kitchen table to help me figure out all my math problems, (if you didn’t know two of my roommates are graduate students, one is a math grad student, and one is a computer science grad student) so I got very lucky because any questions I have either one of them can figure it out and explain it to me.

Meanwhile this whole time I was trying to get done all my work before 6:30 so I could go over the boy’s house (the one I saw over the weekend), to hangout and relax which I desperately needed but I just couldn’t, stupid math.  See life has a funny way of working out because here I was sitting at the table stressing to the max about this test, wishing I had someone here to just talk to that wasn’t a roommate, I just needed a friend.  Then BOOM!  I get a message from one of my best friends on Facebook who I love to death and also had a bad day asking if we wanted to have a night of sulking complaining about our shitty days.  I jumped at the chance,  and next thing you know we are a bottle of wine into talking and chatting just plain old relaxing.  (BTW Ed Hardy makes sangria now? It tastes awesome, just like juice)  I woke up this morning feeling refreshed and ready to take on the day.  I took my test, which I feel I passed,  went to my second class and came home to actually relax.  I just have to say stress really does take a toll on the body, I was almost as exhausted as I was yesterday but I actually got the chance to rest.  Now I am fully rested and feeling better, which is why I’m back to writing this,  and I can’t thank my friend’s enough for all they do for me.  Because even if I don’t like to admit it, sometimes I just need someone to show up with a hug, a massage and some wine, and say “Tell me how shitty your day was?”

Leave a Reply

